Posted by: bikedave | September 15, 2010

September 15, Charlottesville, VA to Mineral, VA

This morning we both left Charlottesville by different routes.  Vicki headed for the interstate while I picked up where I left off on the west side of town and headed east.  I was soon riding in front of the University of Virginia.

University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA. This building was designed by Thomas Jefferson.

This bronze statue of Thomas Jefferson stands in front of the university.

On the south east side of town there is a multi-use trail that ends at Monticello, Jefferson’s home.  My planned route went right past Monticello, so I took the Saunders-Monticello Trail instead of the highway.

The beginning of the Saunders-Monticello Trail near Charlottesville, VA

Here I am on the trail.

There are quite a few of these elevated boardwallks on the trail.

I followed the trail to Monticello, hoping to see the house, but I would have had to leave my bike and buy a ticket on the shuttle bus.  I wasn’t going to do either, but I did have a nice ride around the Monticello parking lot.
The roads I rode on today were lightly to moderately traveled.  I rode through farming areas and residential areas.  I saw both huge estates and trailer homes.

This road west of Palmyra, VA is typical of the roads I was on today.

The Holland Page Place, built by John Benjamin Page in 1865. East of Palmyra, VA

There were lots of these yellow flowers on the roadsides today.

I ended my ride today in the small town of Mineral, VA.  Vicki had found a place to park on the northeast side of town.

Miles today: 59    Total miles: 3,963

Responses

  1. Dave, Was nice meeting you on the Parkway. I finished my tour. Hope you will stay in touch. Wishing you the best on the final few days of your trip.


Leave a Reply

Categories

