Posted by: bikedave | September 15, 2010

September 14, Vesuvias, VA to Charlottesville, VA

Near Greenwood, VA.

Vicki was feeling better this morning so we began traveling again. We left Vesuvias traveling initially in opposite directions.  I headed south towards the Blue Ridge Parkway, and Vicki headed north towards the interstate.  We would meet later in Charlottesville, VA.
The first four miles of the trip would take me up a long hill to join the Blue Ridge Parkway.  The lower sections of the hill were very steep, but after the half way point the hill became just steep.

Highway 56 southeast of Vesuvias, VA.

Just as I reached the parkway, Vicki called to tell me she had reached Charlottesville safely.  I had only gone 4 miles!  Truly, Traveling Slowly.

The Blue Ridge Parkway bridge over Highway 56.

The view to the southeast from the parkway.

Just like the name implies the Blue Ridge Parkway runs along the top of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  There are many overlooks on the roadsides with great views both to the east and west.  The parkway has two wide lanes with no shoulder.  The speed limit is 45 mph and no trucks are permitted.  On the Tuesday morning that I rode the parkway there was light traffic, most of it in the opposite direction, southbound.

A few trees are beginning to show fall colors.

... but there are still plenty of roadside flowers.

Looking northwest from the parkway.

I rode to the north end of the parkway at Rockfish Gap, VA, then began to make my way to Charlottesville on a series of small country roads.

Near Afton, VA

Near Greenwood, VA

Not very far past Greenwood, I rode past a large peach orchard.  They had a fruit stand which was open so I stopped and bought two ripe peaches.  They were very good, but not as good as the ones that I get each summer on Territorial Hwy near Clear Lake Road.
Vicki had found a nice shady place to park in Charlottesville.  When I arrived we loaded up the bike and went looking for a place to spend the night.

Miles today: 59    Total miles: 3,904


Leave a comment

Categories