Posted by: bikedave | August 21, 2010

August 21, Goreville, IL to Marion, KY

I was up before the sun today.  Before starting my ride, I drove about 2 miles south of Goreville to Ferne Clyffe State Park to empty the RV’s holding tanks.  I saw about a dozen whitetail deer as I was driving through the park.  These were the first deer I’d seen in quite awhile.  I would see 2 more while on my ride later today.  I got quite close to one of them before he saw me.  I was coming up a steep hill slowly in my lowest gear.  As I came to the top of the hill the deer, which was grazing on the shoulder came into view.  I got to within about 20 feet of it before it saw me and ran off into the woods.
This morning, after emptying the holding tanks, I drove back to Goreville.  It had been raining off and on all night.  I started riding as soon as it was light enough to be seen.  The sky was overcast and the rain continued falling off and on.

About an hour after starting to ride, it stopped raining long enough to take out the camera.

Most of the ride today was on small state highways with little traffic.  The ride was enjoyable, even in the rain.  One can only get so wet, and the temperature was in the mid 70’s, so I was not cold.

Bridge near Eddyville, IL

Vicki left Goreville just after I had passed Eddyville.  Our routing was on different roads until just north of the town of Golconda, IL.  She came up behind me only about a half mile from where our routes converged, then passed me and continued on to Elizabethtown, IL, about 12 miles further.

My first view of the Ohio River, near Elizabethtown, IL

I met Vicki in Elizabethtown, where we had lunch before continuing.

The Hardin County Courthouse above Elizabethtown, IL

Fishing on The Ohio, Elizabethtown, IL

The "Elizabethtown Yacht Club and Marina" (wink)

We met again in Cave In Rock, IL, where we would board a ferry across the Ohio to Kentucky.

The route to Cave In Rock, IL was on a very small road with almost no traffic.

Vicki in the driver's seat as we cross the Ohio on the ferry.

The ferry was a barge that was pushed by a tug boat.

Looking back toward Illinois as the ferry loads for the return trip.

Goodbye, Illinois. Hello, Kentucky!

Vicki went on ahead to Marion, KY, where we met at the end of today’s ride.

Miles today: 71    Total miles: 3,046

Responses

  1. Great progress Dave. I don’t know how you do 60 some odd miles average per day, every day. Quite an accomplishment!

    America sure is full of photogenic surprises. There is so much to see in this country.

  2. I have to agree with Bob, as there is much to see in the great ‘ol USA. We are always inclined to vacation out of the States, but as Dave is showing us, we have such beautiful country, and lots to see and do here. Thank you Dave for sharing your adventure with us.
    Cindy


Leave a Reply

Categories

