Posted by: bikedave | July 6, 2010

July 5, Bannack, Mt to Twin Bridges, MT

In the late morning, we drove back to the turn-off to Bannack where I had stopped riding on Saturday afternoon.  I began to ride and Vicki went ahead to Dillon, MT.

The first part of the ride was up and over Badger Pass.  I had only gone a half mile when I saw a small herd of antelope on a ridge off to the right.  These were the first antelope I had seen on this trip, but I expect to see many more as we cross Wyoming.

About a mile from the top of the pass, I saw an eagle dive down to the ground near the roadside ahead of me.  I was hoping to see him with his catch when I reached him, but two ravens flushed him.  He flew right over me only about 15 feet away.  I could see him turning his head and trying to watch the ravens that were making passes at him as they chased him away.

After topping Badger Pass the road was downhill almost all the way into Dillon.  I had a quartering tailwind and was easily able to keep the speed above 20 mph most of the way.

I crossed under Interstate 15, and turned north towards Dillon.  Soon I crossed over the Beaverhead River.  In this area it flows slowly.  There are many ponds and sloughs.

Beaverhead River

Deer near pond

Fly fishing on a slough

The valley is mostly farm and ranch land.  I saw the big machines being used to cut hay. Some of the fields had already been cut, and the hay gathered into big rolls.  I stopped to watch a very young horse with it’s mother.

Near Dillon, Mt

I met Vicki in Dillon.  We had lunch, did some shopping, and posted the previous three blog entries.

Vicki then left for Twin Bridges, MT and I followed.  The route is generally north and follows the Beaverhead River valley. It was flat with a few rolling hills.  I had a headwind which increased as the day went on.

Looking west across the Beaverhead River valley

If not for their black faces, I might not have seen these sheep, they blended in so well with the exposed rock.

Rock house with a sod roof on the way to Twin Bridges, MT

At the midpoint of this leg, I passed Beaverhead Rock.  This landmark was known to Native American travelers long before Lewis & Clark passed by here in 1805.  It’s named for its resemblance to the shape of a beaver’s head as he is swimming through the water.

Beaverhead Rock

As I got closer to Twin Bridges, the sky was looking like it would soon rain. I stayed dry, however, and only saw a few raindrops after meeting up with Vicki.

Miles taday: 50    Total miles: 1,042

Leave a Reply

Categories

