Posted by: bikedave | May 15, 2010

My Bike

I began bicycle touring on a modified ’80s vintage road bike pulling a Bob trailer.

On Vancouver Island with my Schwinn Prologue and Bob trailer

In the fall of 2008 I decided to buy a bike designed specifically for touring.  I looked at a few different touring bikes before purchasing a Surly Long Haul Trucker.  Over the winter I added; Surly racks, front and rear Ortlieb Bike Packer Plus panniers, Schwalbe 26 X 1.75 Marathon Plus tires, and a Brooks B17 saddle, along with fenders, lights, a handlebar bag, a computer, and a tire pump.  I also swapped the 26 tooth small chainring for a 24 to give me a lower gear for steep hills.  In September 2009 I took an 8 day trip, starting and ending in Eugene, with stops in Reedsport, Powers, and Crater Lake National Park.  I was very pleased with the new bike on this trip.  It performed well in the mountains, was reliable, and provided a comfortable ride.

Surly Long Haul Trucker, Rogue River National Forest, Oregon 2009

The only major change I have made in preparation for this trip has been to replace my handlebar bag with an Ortlieb model which matches my panniers.

Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to following your trip Dave. Bike looks good. Do you use just the water bottles or do you use a Camelback too?

    Bob

    • Bob, I use the 3 water bottles, and sometimes carry some additional water. I’ve never used a Camelback,

      • Not being stupid….what is a camelback??

      • Good question, Don. A Camelbak is a backpack that holds drinking liquid. It has a tube attached which the wearer can drink from while riding.

  2. Have a safe trip. Looking forward to seeing you on your way home. It will be fun watching your progress.

    Love, Mom

  3. Dave, Congrats on your departure! I didn’t get a chance to wish you well prior to your leaving. Have a safe trip and keep me posted. It’s been great working with you. Looking forward to hearing about your adventures.

    P.S. Tell Vicki hello for me

    Travel safe,

    Chris (and Timinie)


Leave a Reply

Categories

